top of page
Search

Speak Your Truth, Heal the World

Updated: Aug 10, 2022

I have come to the conclusion that, just because I struggled for so many years with my childhood trauma, that myself and others like me, are not the only ones that need to speak our truth. Life throws some punches and it's not always in the form of childhood abuse. Life also gives us experience and wisdom. Maybe you had awesome loving parents. You have the voice to help others who didn't. Maybe you were gifted with creativity so you have a voice to help others save money by being creative. Maybe you love animals and have some good training strategies to help people like me who have unruly dogs! lol Really, our unique skill set is endless and that is why I believe our voices matter.


I also know that there is power is our words. God said "Let there be light and there was light" (Gen 1:3). I mean, from the beginning of time, some of the first words in the bible describe the power of our words. God was trying to tell us something and I think we all overlooked it! The truth of the matter is, we ALL have our own unique voice. Wherever you come from, whatever your experiences have been, however you were raised is the voice that was given to you and only you. You are so special that God wrote a one liner that sums it up. Words have so much power that He was able to light the whole world by SAYING IT. Wow, thats big. I'm by no means a bible scholar but even I see the importance of this verse. Even if you believe in other gods or no god or the universe, just the fact that A god (In my life, THE God) took the time to show us is saying He means business!


So, what IF this were the absolute truth? What if our words had this much power. What if every time we said "Let there be light!", there was light? I had a friend named Scott. One day as he was helping my husband get ready to put siding on our house, I asked him about marriage. "Marriage?" He said, almost like it was joke, "I'll be dead before I'm able to be married". I was startled by this and I even scolded him for saying those words out loud. After all he was only 27 years old. He was adamant and He died less than a year later in an automobile accident speeding recklessly. My friends, there is power in what we say. When I say "speak your truth, heal the world" it's because I am fully convinced that we all have the power to make a difference in others lives. We all have words of kindness to offer and we all have words of wisdom. We also have the power to disrupt, disengage and alienate others with our words. Let's take the time to check our words, use our voice to help others and in turn, start the healing process our world needs, one voice at a time.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page